Adopt a Dog

 

Featured below are the dogs and puppies currently available for adoption at NAHS. New dogs and puppies could be made available any day of the week, so be sure to check the site often. For more information on our adoption process, click here. To read what some of our previous adopters have to say, click here.

You can see larger and additional photos by clicking on the names and pictures below and can sort the table by clicking on column headers for gender, age, breed, etc.

*This page was last updated on May 28, 2016*

Name Age Breed Sex Status
Abigail 7Y 0M Rat Terrier Female Available

I'm a friendly and social girl, found stray by local animal control and transferred to NAHS. As you might be able to tell from my picture, one of my eyes was removed, and I can't see out of the other one, so this has been a bit of a rollercoaster adventure for me. Everyone has been so nice to me and I can't wait to have a family and home to call my own! And don't worry, even though I'm blind, I am still really good at finding treats. I also enjoy playing with people and might be ok living with another calm dog or cat. Children in my new home need to be at least 16 since I do startle easily and am not a fan of being restrained. I'm ready for my next adventure in my new home, could it be with you?

Angus 11Y 1M Cairn Terrier Male Available

Are you the type of person that enjoys spending time outside?  Taking slow walks around the neighborhood, stopping to smell the flowers?  If so, we would be the perfect match!  As you can probably guess, I'm not a super active guy, I'd much rather sit on the patio and soak up the sun than run around.  Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy playing with toys, especially ones that squeak.  I get along with most other dogs and might be OK living with a cat as well.  Children should be at least 8 years old since I am a little older and don't like being startled.  If you're looking for a companion to enjoy the nice weather with, I'm your guy! 

Arlene 8Y 3M Chihuahua mix Female Available

I may be small, but don't let that fool you, I'm a very energetic and agile girl! I absolutely love to play with toys. The squeakier the better I always say! I also really enjoy attention and prefer to play with people than by myself. I do need to be the one and only pet in the home. What can I say, I'm a bit of an attention hog. Children in my new home should be at least 12 years old because I can be a bit rough when playing. Stop by soon and say hi!

*Arlene is in a foster home. If you'd like to meet her, please call 630-420-8989 to schedule an appointment.*

Bella 0Y 11M Victorian Bulldog mix Female Adopted!

Info coming soon.  Please enjoy my cute photo!

Bo 3Y 6M American Staffordshire Terrier mix Male Available

You know what makes me happy?  A good squeaky toy that I can play with.  Sometimes I just like to carry it in my mouth and squeak it for a while.  Other things I enjoy are long walks (I walk great on a leash!), running, and playing tug.  I'm very smart and know a few basic commands, but I'm willing to learn more!  Because I like to be the center of attention, I do need to be the only pet in the home and children should be at least 8 years old.  Hurry on in and ask to see me, I'll be waiting right here!

Buddy 1Y 6M Retriever / Dalmation Male Available

Hi there!  I'm Buddy and I'm ready to be your new best friend!  Like all good best friends I am loving, loyal, and will always be there for you.  We'll be attached at the hip, two peas in a pod, the peanut butter to my jelly...you get the idea.  Though I do have to be honest, my one flaw is that I am not the best listener.  This probably has to do with the fact that I'm hard of hearing, if not completely deaf, so hopefully you'll let that slide.  I do have a really good 'listening face' though, where I look like I'm paying very close attention to what you're saying.  Also because I don't hear very well, training might be more difficult, so please be patient with me.  I do like most other dogs, but they have to share my exuberant play style if we're going to get along.  I cannot live with cats or any small animals and children should be at least 8 years old.  So what do you say pal?  Are you going to stop by soon or what?

Duke 9Y 0M Retriever mix Male Available

Are you looking for a dog that would rather stay at home and watch TV than go running?  Or maybe sit outside with you in the sun rather than play fetch all day long?  If that sounds good, I just might be the dog for you!  As an older fella, I've already gone through my wild and crazy days and am looking for a home where I can just relax.  I love to be scratched behind the ears...and the top of my head..and my belly now that you mention it.  Really, as long you're touching me, I'll be happy.  I would prefer a home that is more on the calm and quiet side that doesn't have too many stairs (my knees aren't what they used to be).  I might be OK living with another calm dog and possibly a cat as well.  Stop by soon and ask to see me!

Louie 0Y 6M Doberman Pinscher mix Male Available

Info coming soon.  Please enjoy my cute photo!

Nala 4Y 5M Miniature Schnauzer mix Female Adopted!

Info coming soon.  Please enjoy my cute photo!

Oscar 11Y 3M Beagle mix Male Available

It's awards season and isn't it everyones dream to have an Oscar? While I may not be gold and shiny, I've been told I'm pretty great. I have a very mellow personality, but I can also be very curious, I am a beagle after all! Speaking of being a beagle, I am true to my breed and can be very vocal. So I probably shouldn't live anywhere with shared walls (ie apartments, condos, etc.). I enjoy going for walks but would much prefer to spend my time relaxing. I need to be the only dog but could possibly live with a cat. Children in my new home can be of almost any age, but it would be best if they understood that I need my alone time sometimes. If I sound like the dog for you, start practicing your acceptance speech and stop by soon!

Patsy 0Y 3M Retriever mix Female Adopted!

Info coming soon. Please enjoy my cute photo!

Pringle 1Y 3M Terrier mix Male Available

Isn't it true that no two chips are alike? Well I can guarantee you won't find another dog quite like me! I can be very shy and nervous when first meeting new people and going to new places. My new family will need to be patient and understand and able to give me the time I need to adjust. But don't worry, once I'm comfortable I am just as playful and curious as they come! I can be quiet the busy body. My new owners will need to have experience with dogs, preferably ones that can be fearful like myself and children should be at least 16 years old. I get along with some other dogs but no cats for me! If you think you have space in your heart for a sweet and energetic boy like me, stop by soon and say hi!

Rosie 1Y 1M Terrier mix Female Available

What a sensitive girl like me needs is a quiet and patient home where I can feel safe and comfortable.  While it might take me some time to warm up to new people, once I do I will happily crawl into your lap.  I do like treats, so having a few of those handy certainly wouldn't hurt!  It might if there is another dog in my new home to help show me the ropes and help me realize the world isn't too scary.  Because of my nervous behavior children should be at least 12 years old.  If you have room in your heart for sweet girl like me, stop by soon and don't forget the treats!

Sadie 2Y 0M Shih Tzu/ Dachshund Female Available

As you might be able to tell from my picture, I'm practicing to become a professional ballerina.  Though I don't think my legs are long enough, so maybe I'll stick to dancing around the house with my family.  That'll give us more time to cuddle too, which is one of my favorite thing, by the way.  It does take me some time to get comfortable around new people, but give me a treat, take me on a walk, or tell me how beautiful I am and we'll be best friends in no time!  I get along with most other dogs and can be playful with them at times.  I also really like cats, so if there is a cat in my new home, they do need to have experience living with dogs.  Children in my new home should be at least 5 years old. 

Skittles 0Y 6M Terrier mix Male Adopted!

My nickname here at the humane society is The Energizer Bunny, can you guess why?  You got it, it's because I just keep going and going and going!  Can you blame me though, I am still a puppy who's excited to explore the world.  I really, really like to be around people, so it would be best if someone was home the majority of day to give me all the love and attention I desire.  I am very athletic (you should see how high I can jump), so you also need to be willing to play fetch with me, a lot.  I like some other dogs, preferably ones that are close to my size and I might be able to live with a cat as well.  Children in my new home should be at least 5, and it would be best if they are familiar with dogs jumping near them.  So if you're looking to add some color in your life, stop by soon and ask to see Skittles!