Adopt a Dog


Listed below are the dogs and puppies currently available for adoption at NAHS. New dogs and puppies are made available on Monday and Thursday evenings, so be sure to check the site often. For more information on our adoption process, click here. To read what some of our previous adopters have to say, click here.

You can see larger and additional photos by clicking on the names and pictures below and can sort the table by clicking on column headers for gender, age, breed, etc.

Name Age Breed Sex Status
Abeline 0Y 3M Beagle mix Female Adopted!

My siblings and I traveled a long way from Oklahoma in hopes of finding our forever homes!  Like all puppies, I can be a handful and will need a family that has enough time to dedicate to house training and obedience training.  Because I'm still learning my manners, it would be best if children in my new home were at least 5 years old and had experience with dogs.  I would probably enjoy having another playful dog in the home and might be able to live with a dog savvy cat as well. 

Austin 0Y 3M Beagle mix Male Adopted!

Out of all my brothers and sisters, I'm probably the most shy.  Once I'm comfortable though, I'll happily curl up on a big soft blanket next to you.  I also like playing with toys, but am not much of a retriever.  I'm still trying to figure things out, I am just a puppy after all!  Speaking of being a puppy, I will need a lot of positive social experiences as well as house training and obedience training in order to be the best dog I can be!  Like my siblings, I would enjoy living with another playful dog and possibly a dog savvy cat as well.  Children in my new home should have experience with dogs as well. 

Brit 3Y 0M American Staffordshire Terrier mix Female Available

Are you looking for a dog that likes to go on walks?  Or maybe one that will snuggle up close to you?  How about a dog that likes to play fetch?  Well I have a surprise for you, I like to do all three!  I'm very friendly and get excited to meet new people and make new friends.  I get along with most other dogs but cannot live with cats.  Children in my new home should be at least 8 years old, and preferably have experience with high energy dogs.  Stop by soon and see how great I am for yourself!

Ella 2Y 6M Pug/Terrier mix Female Adopted!

Info coming soon. Please enjoy my cute photo!

Ellie 10Y 5M Shepherd mix Female Available

I'm a sweet, gentle girl searching for a home where I can spend my golden years.  I really like being near people, and would much rather be in the company of my humans than play with toys.  When I get comfortable with you, I will happily ask for a belly rub.  I can be easily startled, especially with hands around my face so I think it would be best if children in my new home were at least 12 years old and had experience with dogs.  I could probably live with another calm dog and possibly a cat as well.  If you're looking for a calm, loving dog, stop by soon and say hi! 

Lola 5Y 1M Retriever Mix Female Available

I'm a happy-go-lucky girl searching for a nice, quiet home to spend my days. Don't get me wrong, I can be quite active, and I L-O-V-E playing with toys. I'm great at fetch and could probably play that game all day long. As long as you throw the tennis ball, I'll bring it back. I enjoy walking and exploring (all on leash, of course), and I can be a great snuggler. I tend to bond to one person and I can be protective of that person. I think it's best if children in my new home are older teens, and everyone in my new home should be very dog savvy.

Lupita 3Y 1M American Pit Bull Terrier mix Female Available

I'm a very outgoing girl on the search for my next great adventure! I am very active and will need a family dedicated to getting me the mental and physical stimulation that I need. Playing fetch is one of my all time favorite things to do! I could spend all day running around outside. I really enjoy playing with other dogs but can be very picky about my friends. I prefer male dogs who are more rough and tumble in their play style. I cannot however live with cats as I am too energetic. Children in my new home need to have experience with dogs and be in their upper teens. Because of my energy level and need for training, it would be best if my new owners had experience with my breed. I can't wait for you to stop by and maybe we can play a game of fetch?

Marta 7Y 1M Beagle mix Female Available

So what do you want to talk about? Movies, television, food? Oh I know, we can talk about me, that's my favorite topic after all. The first and most important thing you should know is that I LOVE to talk. I shouldn't live in an apartment or town home (or anywhere with shared walls) because your neighbors might not like my chattiness. I do enjoy playing with toys on occasion, but I have to be in the mood. I also really like going for walks and being outside. I might be OK living with a calm dog but no cats please! Children in my new home can be younger, but need to have experience with dogs. Stop by soon, I would love to tell you more about myself!

Max 7Y 0M Maltese/Poodle mix Male Adopted!

Did you know that Max was the most popular dog name in 2014?  Don't worry about me getting lost in the crowd though, I'm the type of dog that no one can forget!  I love exploring the outside world, there are so many new sights and smells.  Maybe I could help you in the garden?  I would really like it if someone was home a good portion of the day to give me all the attention I deserve.  I get along with some other dogs, but can be picky.  I could probably live with a cat and children should have experience with dogs because I am very sensitive.  If I sound like a good match for you, stop in and say hi!

Pippy 0Y 11M Bull Terrier mix Female Available

My name is Pippy and I'm the fastest dog in town!  Well, there haven't been any official titles given, but I like to believe it's true.  I have a lot of energy and am looking for a family to help me harness it and teach me how to focus it in on something positive.  One thing I've heard about is agility training.  That sounds really fun and I think I could be really good at it!  Or maybe flyball training?  I bet that would be fun for us to learn together.  Because of all my energy, it would be best if children were in their teens and I cannot live with cats.  I also am not a fan of other dogs being in my face, so I would be happiest as the only dog.  If you are someone who likes the challenge of training dogs to do new things, come meet me soon!  I know we would have a lot of fun!

Stephie 0Y 8M Cattle Dog Mix Female Available

What a girl like me needs is a very patient family who will understand my shy and sensitive personality. Everyone at NAHS has been very nice to me and I am slowly getting more confident in myself. My new family will need to be dedicated to continuing this growth so that I can be my best self. I do enjoy the company of other dogs, so long as they are not too exuberant, and would do best if there are other dogs in my new home. I might be able to live with a cat as well. I would really like if there was someone home the majority of the day to help give me positive social experiences. Children need to be in their upper teens and have experience with dogs.

Troy 1Y 6M American Pit Bull Terrier mix Male Available

Is that a tennis ball?  I love to play fetch!  Wait, is that a leash?  I love going for walks!  Oh look, another dog!  I love playing with other dogs!  That's just a small glimpse as to what goes on in my head.  I am a very active guy who is also still pretty puppy-ish.  I will need a lot of exercise, both physical and mental in order to keep me out of trouble.  One example of mental exercise is obedience training, and I've been told I could benefit from that.  I like most other dogs,and it would be best if any new friends shared my play style.  I cannot live with cats and it would be best if children in my new home were at least in their teens because I'm still learning my manners.  So if you're looking for an active dog to join your family, I just might be that guy!